top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJackie Reynolds

The Soulful Path



It is my belief that nostalgia has played a big part of how we have been coping with our new lives.

Nostalgia can be a positive emotion in our lives if it helps us move forward, but nostalgia usually awakens in us when we are feeling a negative emotion.

Kind of like how when we feel lonely or sad we tend to ruminate on what was to make us feel better.


Yet when we ruminate on what was, we are only recalling memories by how we choose to perceive them.

They aren't exactly replaying what actually happened or what ever truly was.


And that’s exactly what I had been doing the last part of 2021.

My life was looking and feeling so different and I was ruminating on my old spirit.


Where did she go?


Here I was..

A new wife working from home and running a new business.

I was taking my work and my newfound grounded lifestyle very seriously.

I was so scared of making a mistake that I kept myself in a state of learning, saving money, and working, not realizing that I was stunting my spiritual growth.


One could argue that perhaps it was a season where I needed to build my nest and ground myself for the first time in my life.


And yet with so much to embrace and be proud of, I was out of touch with spirit.

And I missed her so much.


So I continued to return to nostalgia as if my spirit were gone, and ruminated on the times when she used to be here.


It wasn't until the start of this year when I realized that she was not gone.

It was the ruminating that had been blocking her.


The nostalgia was not serving me in the present.


So before I move on, you may be wondering,

"what do you mean by spirit?"


The only way I can describe spirit is in this feeling...


She lives in music, wonder, and art.

She lives in movement, sweat, and breath.

She lives in travel, change, and transformation.

She lives in sunset views, nature, and long walks.

She lives in bright lights, city streets, and imagination.

She lives in corner cafes, candlelit yoga studios, and window seats.


She is the sweetness of life.


She is what created this blog.

She is what created SOLA.

She is why I am an artist.


She has always led me and saved me in this life.


And I am welcoming her back home.


So here are a few updates on my life and how I am letting my spirit re-awaken and move through me:


I recently accepted a full time position as a Sales Supervisor with a new yoga company.

This new routine has created more opportunity for me to meet people in my community, access more cash flow, put my new business skills to work, and learn more about how to expand a company.


Now that I am getting out of the house with purpose each day, I have found that sense of momentum I missed so much.


That sense of momentum allows me to feel more clear and present in my social engagements.


And with this extra cash flow I have been able to hire a small team to help me grow the SOLA store.

This has relieved me from the day to day stressors and created space for me to get back to being creative.


More cash flow also means I can plan more spontaneous travel adventures and visit friends.


And with more time away from home, I honor the moments during the week that I get to make dinner with my husband, care for our house, and run my business.


I'm also back to making playlists, writing, and moving more intentionally with spirit so she can shine through me.


To put it simply, I am making more space for FUN by lighting a fire to my routine.


Having fun is to be in flow with life and reminds us why we are here.

I think it's important to remember that we need FUN to survive.

We also need fun to move forward in life.


I have always been moved spiritually.

In joy.

In movement.

In breath.

In travel.

In self.


So now I am learning how to be BOTH.


I am introducing that childlike and wandering spirit that came here to live this life

to this new woman - -

a woman who now has a place to call home for the first time, a partner, and a life that she is proud of building.


I believe spirit can be both.


Rooted in strength

and

Led by soul.


Grounded in purpose

and

Moved by service.


Spirit is the soulful path.

And she doesn't look back.









80 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

WIFE

bottom of page